MY LIFE, Sports, Sucker Punch

Bruce Lee & How I Am Water #SuckerPunch

Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend” – Bruce Lee

Hello there crazy beasts,

In today’s post I’m going to talk about one of the greatest inspirations in my life: Bruce Lee. Some of you may know him as the movie star, or the martial arts expert, but to me he is bigger than that. Bruce was a man ahead of is time. that viewed the world in a different way. I’m not going to give you his bio because let’s face it, you have a million other sites, movies, books, that can give you a lot more information that I ever could fit in one post. Today i just want to let you know why Mr. Lee allowed me to make a big change in my life.

Resultado de imagem para bruce lee

As most of you know by now – if you are new you can always catch up on the previous posts – I am a huge fan of martial arts, and also that I practice kickboxing and french boxing. The thing is it took a lot for me to start practicing because of many reasons, the biggest of them being that I was afraid. Not afraid of being hit or breaking something, afraid of failing, afraid of not being good enough. As a woman, going into a male-dominated sport I didn’t want to be foreseen as weak or fragile.

That was when I – completely be accident – watched the documentary “I am Bruce Lee“. It opened my eyes. Bruce Lee was the underdog who proved everyone wrong. He became what he wanted to, even when everybody put him down and doubted him.

The quote I wrote above was one that resonated with me. You may think “How did that apply to you?“, well, that made me see that what I think of myself is not what I am, and certainly it isn’t what I am capable of becoming. I am more, I am what I make of myself, I am water.

Weak is merely a state that is up to you to change. So change, mold yourself to better yourself. I did just that. I dove in, head first, full of fears, but willing to shapeless and embrace a new adventure. It was one of the best decisions I’ve ever made, practicing what you love makes you glow from the inside, and gives you the strength to respond to people who don’t believe in you that you are capable.

Every time my friends make fun of me or my family makes comments about me being a fighter I have the power in me to not doubt my choice, because I made it for me and own growth. So “empty your mind” of all the background noise and embrace life.

See you on the other side,

Big Bad Wegan

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

