MY LIFE, Sports, Sucker Punch

Ass Whopping & Blackeyes – #SuckerPunchChronicles

Hey there you crazy beasts,

So today I decided to share my chronicles as an amateur kick-boxer/savateuse. It will be sort of guide/storytime post as a woman in a combat sport. Also I’ll throw in some tips that proved helpful over the time. I’ll use the hashtag #SuckerPunchChronicles to keep things organized.11062079_10202739384160765_4981782095393834280_n

I started practicing a few years ago, and stayed very faithful to my master – or coach, whatever you feel like calling it – and with that came a certain routine when it comes to practice. I already know what to do just by looking at him. Yet that can take years and not everyone has the luck to find a good teacher.

Even though I have a few years of practice I’m not over getting my ass whooped.  I had, and will have, my fair share of black eyes and bruises, and with that comes some jokes and comments from my family/friends. Some are pure banter and super funny, but others make me wonder what is inside some people’s mind. Lets make one thing clear, just because a woman fights doesn’t mean she likes to be hit. I never hear people say that to guys, they just assume they are tough.

I know it’s not all sunshine and rainbows when you practice, you are going to get sore, bruised, tired, get the wind knocked out of you and gasp for air. Even with all of that I wouldn’t trade it for the world, because the buzz I feel when I get it right, man, there is nothing like it.

This one time I took a knee to the face, right on my cheek bone, as you would expect it looked awful. My eye got all swollen and purple, I couldn’t even open it all the way. The thing is, it was all my fault – I know this might be triggering for some people who suffer from domestic abuse – but in this case it really was. I was sparing with a partner and for some – idiotic – reason I bent myself and I put my hands down, thus crashing into my partner’s knee while he tried to go for my ribs. It was incredibly dumb. NEVER PUT YOUR HANDS DOWN!

Since that episode you better bet my hands started looking like they were glued to my head. I still get some bruises here and there, and I always will, but you can only learn from your mistakes. So practice your craft, give it your all, fail a million times, you will see that at the end you will be a different person, that knows and does better.

I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times.” – Bruce Lee

See you on the other side,

Big Bad Wegan

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

